The Great 2010 Summer Journal/Scrapbook Project

Buckle up everyone because it’s finally here! (Summer that is.)  I decided a few weeks ago that I really wanted to document my summer with my family this year. I also wanted the kids to play a big part in the project. Hence, the Great Summer of 2010 Journal/Scrapbook project was born. This system is meant to be a way for you and your family to document the summer of 2010. There will be heavy emphasis on getting the kids involved, but everything can be adjusted so you can use the pages as you see fit.

Before we get into detail about the specific types of pages we’re going to have, let’s talk about a few other details first.

  • All pages were created to be put into a standard 3-ring binder. It’s up to you if you want a separate binder for each family member or one binder to put everyone’s pages into. (I plan on using one binder with divider pages for each of us.)
  • You can either print as you go (meaning you print out individual pages as you need them), or you can print a bunch of them out ahead of time and have them on hand for anyone in the family to grab when they see fit. (I’ll have some of everything printed out at all times.)
  • Other than a three-ring binder, you’ll also need a hole punch and paper and/or cardstock to print on. (I’ll be using both. There are some pages I know will be written on throughout the summer and/or will have photos adhered to them, so I want them a bit sturdier. But there will also be some pages (like the journaling pages) that I’ll just print on normal paper.)
  • I thought about creating front and back versions of all of the pages (with a larger margin on the side where your holes will go), but I know that if you’re anything like me, that involves way too much thought and I always end up with everything not lining up or being upside down, etc.). So for this project, I just made everything so that all margins are equal and it’s up to you if you want to print double-sided or not. If you DO choose to print double-sided, there’s no need to open up a separate file to do so since there are no “front” and “back” files to worry about.
  • I’ll be creating some printables that aren’t 8.5 x 11″ and/or using certain products on my own project that I’ll offer to you as well (along with photos and ideas on how to use them). It does NOT mean that you need to follow the same format. I’ll be offering them as suggestions, but you really need to decide what you do and don’t want in your own project, figure out how much money you’re willing to spend on outside products, etc., and go from there.
  • I’m also creating a buttload of different types of pages. You can pick and choose which ones you want to use and which ones you don’t. I’m all about doing what works for you, so I’ll try my best to outline how you can use just one or two of the pages to document the summer, or go hog wild and use all of them to put together a pretty cool project of your summer memories.
  • If you don’t want to use any of the pages, that’s fine too, because I’ll also share ideas on how to use everyday things like your To Do lists to create something that will be a reminder of how you spent the summer.
  • I’ll try my hardest to help those that work outside of the home to create a book too. I’m well aware that the summer is spent entirely different depending on whether or not you’re home with your kids all day or not (because I’ve been on both sides of the fence), so I’ll make sure to address how to still create a cool book even if you don’t spend every waking moment with your child(ren).
  • I also took into account that not everyone wants to spend a boatload of money on printer ink (my god, that stuff is expensive), so none of the pages are “fancy” in terms of extra design elements. Yes, there is some color (other than black) used in page titles and borders, but even printed out in black and white and/or photocopied, you’ll be good to go. You can pretty it up in other ways as you see fit. Experienced digital scrapbookers can do it on their own using their computer, and non-digital scrapbookers can draw in the margins, add stickers or stamps, etc. as they see fit. Again, it’s about preserving the memories… not about being pretty.

That’s all I can think of right now (but I’m sure there will be more as we go). Tomorrow, I’ll post links to the binder I’ll be using and some of the “extras” I bought for the project here at our house. I’ll also start posting the individual pages, how we plan to use them here at our house, and the different ways you can use them for your own family.

1 Comment

Filed under 2010 Summer Scrapbook

One response to “The Great 2010 Summer Journal/Scrapbook Project

  1. Joan Gallob

    Cecilia passed this one to me, and I am really excited to follow you thru the summer!

Leave a Reply

